Mama Tried

How many of you Mamas had well intentions of writing letters to your children as they grow? How many planned to write to them with each milestone, birthday, or maybe even on a monthly basis? Now, how many of you have stuck with it?


When I became a mother I had every intention to write to my children several times a year, and I did! With the first child… The other two, not so much. I kept a journal for Hailey and wrote in it sometimes daily. It’s full of sweet anecdotes about her first sounds, sniffles, and cries. You’ll read about her first words, first steps, and her very first tooth. When reading it, it’s almost as if you’re right there in the story… That all ended when we had Rhett. Then everything changed. Not only did I have two children to care for but we moved and keeping track of journals and then journaling itself just seemed impossible. Just as I was getting settled into having two children, we had Grady. All hell broke loose after that. 

So, instead of trying to keep track of more stuff, I setup email addresses for my kids. Sure, they aren’t going to have a memento of my handwriting and it is a bit less personal but what a great tool! Doesn’t take up any space and it is so easy to type up a quick message. In this day and age, this just makes sense. I created an address specific to each of them and have saved their passwords to give them when they graduate high school. It’s not only letters that I send them but pictures as well! This is really a great option for anyone that wants to remember those precious moments. Little sayings that they come up with or short stories about their day. Sometimes I write to Hailey  after we have an argument. Not necessarily to document the disagreement but to remind myself that this too shall pass. Rhett’s vocabulary is ever expanding so I like to quickly type up a list of his new words or phrases. Grady, too, is learning so much and his little world is becoming so much bigger. It’s fun to jot down these memories so we can look back on them years down the road.

What are some things you do that could make documenting the little things easier? 

Leave a Reply

